Hurling & Football News and Results Oct 7th
Wednesday, 07 October 2009 11:27
Michael Reidy Memorial U12 Hurling Championship 1st Round
Ballyduff 3-05 Dr Crokes 6-07.
Abbeydorney 2-04 Ballyheigue 4-16.
Duagh gave a w/o to Dingle.

The William Sweeney Memorial U15 Hurling Championship Final
St Brendans 1-06 Lixnaw 2-10.

Michael Reidy Memorial U12 Hurling Championship Qtr Final
Dr Crokes 3-07 Causeway 5-07
Ballyheigue 3-07 Crotta 1-05
St Brendan’s 1-05 Lixnaw 4-10

Lee Strand U12 Co League Division 3 Hurling Final
Ballyduff 5-09 Abbeydorney 4-04.

Saturday Oct 10th
Michael Reidy Memorial U12 Hurling Championship Qtr Final
Dingle v Kenmare Kilgarvan @ 5pm in Dingle
Both Semi Finals will now be played on Saturday Oct 17th and the Final on Sat Oct 24th.

Note: The draw for the Semi Finals will take then place on next Saturday evening and all Clubs will be notified of the venue for the draw and the fixture will be announced on Radio Kerry Sports on Sunday.

Sunday October 11th
The Con Courtney Memorial U16 District Championship Semi Finals
Both games @ 12 noon w/extra time if needed
Shannon Rangers v East Kerry in Healy Park, Ballyrickard, Tralee 
Eoghan Ruadh v West Kerry in Milltown/Castlemaine


 The William Sweeney Memorial U15 Hurling Championship Final
Lixnaw 2-10 St Brendans 1-06.
Lixnaw's Ricky Heffernan opened with a point in the second minute and followed with his 2nd a minute later. Kieran Fitzgerald registered St Brendans 1st score in the 8th minute. Lixnaw then put pressure on the Brendan’s full back line and as early in the 10th minute Aidan O'Sullivan tested the keeper who cleared his lines.

Kevin Skinner then pointed from a 65 to leave 1 point between the sides and a Brendan’s goal from a Cian Hussey hand pass to Gearoid Sheehan who scored, this then gave the Brendans a 2 point advantage at the end of the 1st quarter. Brendan’s keeper Ryan Delaney was tested again and a cleared ball received by Gavin O'Connor who raised the white flag to leave Lixnaw trailing by 1. Kevin Skinner replied to restore Brendans lead to 2. But Lixnaw finished the stronger in the half with 2 unanswered points, to leave the side’s level going into the half time interval. Lixnaw 0-06 St Brendans 1-03.

Lixnaw’s Gavin O'Connor opened with a goal and a point to forge a 4 point lead. Lixnaw’s Ricky Heffernan gave an exhibition of free taking and soloing with a solo run from the 65 through to the 13 metre line where his well taken shot raised the green flag in Lixnaw’s favour to give them a 7 point lead and a stiff breeze aided Lixnaw's 2nd half game. As Brendans tried to master an attack, the Lixnaw backs stood solid especially Keith Silles and Tadgh Brosnan with Aidan O'Sullivan covering all positions on the field cleared a ball to Tommy Allan who pointed from 30 metres. Ricky Heffernan had 2 unanswered points as Lixnaw were well in control with a 9 point advantage. St Brendan’s 2nd score of the half came from Kevin Skinner in the 25th minute from a free and Lixnaw’s Jason Wallace had a point blank save from a St Brendans attack and it cleared over the end line out for a 65. St Brendans pointed from the 65 for 
St Brendans pointed from the 65 for their 3rd score of the half and the last score of the game. Well done to Referee John Michael Fitzgerald who let the game flow as both sides wanted to play hurling. Final score Lixnaw 2-10 St Brendans 1-06.

Johnny Brosnan, Chairman of Coiste Na nOg, thanked both clubs for a sporting game and wished Ger Hussey a speedy recovery. (Ger is our U14 Hurling Co-ordinator with Coiste Na nOg) as a delighted Tommy Allen, Lixnaw's Captain, accepted the William Sweeney Memorial U15 Hurling Championship trophy much to the delight of his team mates and their supporters.

Jason Wallace, Tadhg Brosnan, Keith Silles, Michael Stackpoole, Gavin O’Connor, Kenny Walz, Conor O’Brien, Tommy Allen (Capt), Ian McAuliffe, Jamie Fitzgerald, Ricky Heffernan, Davin Quilter, Damien Kissane, Frances Hennessey, Aidan O’Sullivan.
John Buckley for Gavin O’Connor (Inj), JP Barrett, Darragh Shanahan, Shane O’Sullivan, David Silles.

St Brendans
Ryan Delaney, Jack Nevilinan, John Courtney, Kevin Hanafin, Fionan Horgan, Kevin Skinner, Eoghan Courtney, Billy McCarthy, Padraig Kearney, Brendan O' Connor, Colin Kirby, Cian Hussey, Daniel Finnegan (Capt), Kieran Fitzgerald, Gearoid Sheehan.
Subs: Padraig Casey for B. O'Connor, James Lyne for G. Sheehan.

Referee: John Michael Fitzgerald (Abbeydorney)